A Newgen Magazine

Sunrisers Hyderabad announce Aiden Markram as SRH skipper for IPL 2023

There were speculations that South African batter Markram or former Punjab Kings skipper Mayank Agarwal could be picked as the new skipper.

Aiden Markram, SRH, Sunrisers Hyderabad, SRH skipper Aiden Markram SRH captainThe announcement of Aiden Markram’s name came on Thursday. (SRH/Twitter)

Listen to this article
Your browser does not support the audio element.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), who was the only IPL team without a captain, has announced South African batsman Aiden Markram as their skipper for the season. The announcement came on Thursday as Kaviya Maran-owned team announced Markram’s name on Twitter saying,” THE. WAIT. IS. OVER. #OrangeArmy, say hello to our new captain Aiden Markram.”

The Hyderabad-based franchise did not retain or buy their former captain Kane Williamson at the IPL 2023 auction. There were speculations that Markram or former Punjab Kings skipper Mayank Agarwal could be picked as the new skipper.

Markram led the Sun Group-owned Sunrisers Eastern Cape team to clinch the inaugural SA20 title. He scored 336 runs, including a century in the semi-final and took 11 wickets in the tournament. The Proteas all rounder also had a great IPL season last year where he scored 381 runs at an average of 47.63 with a strike-rate of over 139 with three half-centuries.

SRH Full Squad for IPL 2023Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi*, Glenn Phillips*, Kartik Tyagi, Marco Jansen*, Rahul Tripathi, T. Natarajan, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Anmolpreet Singh, Akeal Hosein*, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Mayank Dagar, Upendra Yadav, Sanvir Singh, Samarth Vyas, Vivrant Sharma, Mayank Markande, Adil Rashid*, Heinrich Klaasen*, Mayank Agarwal, Harry Brook*

Source link